Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Candidate filing deadline is March 9

Friday, March 9 is the last day candidates may file to run in the upcoming Clearwater County elections.

The following county offices are up for election in the May 15 primary: County Commissioner District 1 (two year term), County Commissioner, Dist. 3 (four year term), Clearwater County Prosecutor (four year term), Clearwater County Sheriff (four year term), and precinct committeepersons for political parties.

All four incumbents with positions up for election will seek new terms in November. The four are Sheriff Chris Goetz, Prosecutor E. Clayne Tyler and commissioners Don Ebert and Carole Galloway.

Goetz, 37, Orofino, will be running for his second four-year term.

Tyler, 43, Orofino, will be seeking a third four-year term.

Ebert, 50, Weippe, will be seeking another two-year term in District 1. This will be his fourth term overall.

Galloway, 58, Freeman Creek area, has served two years in District 3 and is seeking a four-year term.

Declarations of Candidacy for all candidates, including independents, for these offices must be filed no later than March 9.

Individuals who run as write-in candidates must file a declaration of intent no later than on Friday, March 30.

Such declarations are available at the office of the County Clerk, located in the Clearwater County Courthouse, 150 Michigan Avenue, Orofino.

No comments:

Post a Comment